Skip links
Emilio Nsue Lopez, Ronwen Williams and William Troost-Ekong were recognized for their exceptional performances at AFCON 2023 in Cote d’Ivoire. CFP.

AFCON 2023 winners: Emilio Nsue takes golden boot, as Ronwen Williams is named best goalkeeper

Read < 1 minute

The 34th edition of the Africa Cup of Nation (AFCON) competition concluded on Sunday with the hosts, Cote d’Ivoire, coming from behind to beat Nigeria.

The Super Eagles took the lead through William Troost-Ekong in the 38th minute at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium. However, Franck Kessie equalized for the hosts, before Sebastian Haller’s 81st minute strike won them the trophy.

The Confederation of African Football awarded the best performers of the tournament.

Nigeria’s captain, Troost-Ekong won the Best Player Award, while Equatorial Guinea forward Emilio Nsue Lopez walked away with the Golden Boot Award. Nsue scored five goals for his side.

Bafana Bafana shot-stopper, Ronwen Williams, was voted the Best Goalkeeper for his heroics. Williams made history by becoming the first AFCON goalkeeper to save four penalties in a game against Cape Verde.  He also saved another two against DR Congo.

Aside from coming third and winning the bronze medal, South Africa won the Fair Play Award.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish.