Kenya’s elected county governors to take office on Thursday

45 county governors are scheduled to take oath of office on Thursday across Kenya following the country’s general elections on August 9.

The 45 were declared winners by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) after the vote.

The new council will have seven women governors, the highest number of women governors in the council’s history.

County governors are the chief executives of the county governments in Kenya, which are at the second level of governance in the country.

Among other roles, governors draft, approve and implement county policies as well as budget for their region’s projects and development.