Somalia says four European nations agree to guarantee safe passage of its nationals from Ukraine

Refugees from many diffrent countries - from Africa, Middle East and India - mostly students of Ukrainian universities are seen at the Medyka pedestrian border crossing fleeing the conflict in Ukraine, in eastern Poland on February 27, 2022. - As Ukraine braces for a feared Russian invasion, its EU member neighbours are making preparations for a possible influx of hundreds of thousands or even millions of refugees fleeing military action. (Photo by Wojtek RADWANSKI / AFP)

Somalia on Tuesday said Hungary, Moldova, Poland and Romania had agreed to give Somali nationals safe passage from Ukraine and arrangements had been made to deal with the surge in numbers of evacuees.

The Somali Ministry of Foreign Affairs added that some citizens had already arrived safely in Poland while others were en route, and others were yet to cross two border points between Ukraine and Poland.

African students wait near a bus while attempting to flee the fighting in Ukraine. /Getty Images

“Our embassies in Brussels and Berlin have been able to provide consular services to such persons unable to cross border points and we urge all Somali nationals who lack identification documents to get in touch with our embassies in Brussels and Berlin,” the ministry said in a statement noting that the embassies were in constant communication with about 280 Somali citizens.

Somalia further appealed to European countries that neighbour Ukraine to respect international humanitarian law and offer unrestricted passage for all Africans trying to cross Ukraine’s border.

There have been numerous reports of racist and unfair treatment of Africans who are trying to leave Ukraine.

Ukrainian police and security personnel are accused of refusing to allow Africans passage towards the Ukraine-Poland border and Polish authorities have also allegedly denied Africans entry into Poland from Ukraine.

Thousands of African students are studying in Ukraine, mostly from Kenya, Nigeria, Ghana, Ethiopia, Somalia, South Africa and other countries.