113 leaders, members of Tunisia’s Islamist party announce collective resignation

Followers of moderate islamist party Ennahdha march to celebrate the eighth anniversary of the democratic uprising in Tunis, Monday, Jan.14, 2019. Tunisia is marking eight years since its democratic uprising amid deepening economic troubles and simmering anger at the revolution's unfulfilled promises. (AP Photo/Hassene Dridi)
Supporters of Tunisia’s Ennahdha party march to celebrate the eighth anniversary of the democratic uprising in Tunis, Monday, January 14, 2019. (AP Photo/Hassene Dridi)

A total of 113 leaders and members of regional and local offices of Tunisia’s Islamist party Ennahdha (Renaissance) announced on Saturday their collective resignation from the party, reported Tunis Afrique Presse (TAP).

Former Minister of Health Abdellatif Mekki is among those who have resigned from the Ennahdha party, the first majority party in the Tunisian parliament. The list also included many leaders of Ennahdha’s consultative assembly as well as members of regional councils.

In a statement published in local media, they said their resignation is due to “the lack of reforms within the party,” adding that “the leadership of Ennahdha is responsible for an important part of the deterioration of the situation in the country.”

The signatories of the statement attributed the decision of their collective resignation to what they described as the “disruption of internal democracy” within the Ennahdha party and the centralization of the decision in recent years.

Tunisian President Kais Saied issued on Wednesday a decree to continue extending the exceptional measures of suspending activities of the parliament and freezing the immunity of all its members.

Saied ordered to put an end to all the grants and privileges granted to the parliament speaker and to all its members.

On July 25, Saied announced that he had removed Hichem Mechichi from the post of prime minister and suspended all activities of the Assembly of People’s Representatives, or the parliament.

Leave a Reply