CAF to hold Women’s Champions League draw on September 29

CAIRO, EGYPT - JUNE 06: Confederation of African Football (CAF) building is seen in Cairo, Egypt on June 06, 2019. It is reported that, President of the Confederation of African Football, Ahmed Ahmed was detained in France's capital Paris, over allegation of corruption. (Photo by Stringer/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images)

The draw for the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League will take place on September 29 in the Egyptian capital Cairo.

Eight teams will participate in the tournament which will take place between November 5 and 19 following the conclusion of the six CAF regional preliminary qualifiers.

FILE PHOTO: The Confederation of African Football (CAF) headquarters in Cairo, Egypt. /Getty Images

The eight teams will be divided into two groups of four teams each with the top two from each group advancing to the semi-finals.

The teams which will be in the draw are: AS Mande (Mali), Hasaacas Ladies FC (Ghana), Rivers Angels (Nigeria), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Vihiga Queens FC (Kenya), AS FAR FC (Morocco), Wadi Degla FC (Egypt) and Malabo King FC (Equatorial Guinea).

Wadi Degla FC, who belong to the UNAF region, secured automatic qualification as hosts of the tournament joining Morocco’s AS FAR FC. WAFU B region, as the zone holder which has the defending Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) champions, were granted two representatives, Hasaacas Ladies FC (Ghana) and Rivers Angels (Nigeria).