Nigeria imposes sanctions on 90 travellers who evaded mandatory quarantine

Passengers rag their belongings with them at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA) after arriving from Lebanon, after a five-month closure of the Nigerian airspace due to the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic, flight resumptions beginning with Middle East Airline and British Airways airplanes in Lagos, on September 5, 2020. (Photo by Olukayode Jaiyeola/NurPhoto

Nigeria’s Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 has on Monday imposed sanctions on 90 travellers arriving in Nigeria from Brazil, India and Turkey for evading the mandatory 7 day quarantine.

PSC announced that the said travellers would have their travel passports disabled for a period of not less than one year.

As well as the cancellation of visas/permits of foreigners who have abused Nigeria’s hospitality, and prosecution under the 2021 Health Protection Regulations.

The travellers, both Nigerians and foreigners, arrived in the country between May 8 and May 15, through the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos and Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport.

PSC provided the names, passport numbers, nationalities and date of arrival of the travellers, notifying members of the public that “these persons of interest constitute an immediate health hazard to the society.

They must therefore transport themselves safely, to the nearest state public health departments within 48 hours.” Read the statement by Boss Mustapha, Secretary to the Government of the federation Chairman, PSC on COVID-19.

An additional list of ‘Batch II defaulters’ shall be published in a subsequent announcement by the PSC.

PSC on May 1 issued a travel advisory for passengers arriving in Nigeria from Brazil, India and Turkey, as a precautionary measure to mitigate the spread of COVID-19.

Passengers arriving from or that have visited any of the said countries within 14 days prior to their visit to Nigeria, are required to follow mandatory quarantine and testing protocols.


Leave a Reply