Three South African players isolated after one positive Covid-19 test

South African cricket players and team officials arrive at the airport in Kolkata on March 16, 2020. - India called off its two remaining one-day cricket internationals against a visiting South Africa side amid mounting anxiety in India over the coronavirus pandemic. (Photo by Dibyangshu SARKAR / AFP) (Photo by DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP via Getty Images)
FILE PHOTO: South African cricket players and team officials arrive at the airport in Kolkata in March. (Photo by DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP via Getty Images)

One player in South Africa’s cricket squad tested positive for COVID-19 ahead of the upcoming limited overs series against England.

The player, who was not identified, was immediately placed in isolation, with the rest of the squad set to enter a bio-safe environment before the series.

Two other unidentified players who were close to the one who tested positive were also placed under self-isolation.

“One player has returned a positive test result and two players were considered close contacts based on the risk assessment undertaken by the medical team. All three players have been placed in immediate isolation in Cape Town as part of the COVID-19 protocols,” Cricket South Africa (CSA) said in a statement.

“While all players are asymptomatic, CSA’s medical team will monitor them to ensure their health and well-being,” it added.

CSA added that about 50 COVID-19 PCR tests were done on players and support staff before they entered the bio-safe environment.

CSA said two replacement players will be included in the squad for the purposes of the inter-squad practice matches, and the players who have been put under isolation would not be replaced for the series against England.

The England team, on the other hand, returned no positive Covid-19 result following its arrival in Cape Town ahead of the series.

The limited overs series, which sees England become the first team to tour South Africa during the pandemic, is scheduled to begin on November 27.

The series will begin with three T20Is followed by three ODIs with all matches being played between Newlands and Paarl.