Tanzania, Seychelles report new COVID-19 cases

Tanzania and Seychelles have reported new cases of COVID-19, increasing Africa’s tally of the disease.

Tanzania’s health ministry announced four new cases on Monday, taking the country’s total number to 24. Seychelles on the other hand announced one new case, bringing its cumulative number of confirmed cases to 11.

The two countries are among 51 African states that have confirmed cases of COVID-19. The continent’s reported cases have surpassed 9,000, with over 400 deaths. Over 800 patients have recovered.

Various African states have taken various measures in efforts to curb the spread of the disease.

Many countries have banned international flights, limited local movement and prohibited public gatherings to halt the spread of COVID-19.

The latest country to impose a restriction on movement is Kenya. President Uhuru Kenyatta on Monday announced a 21-day travel ban affecting the Nairobi Metropolitan region, Kilifi County, Kwale County and Mombasa County, in a bid to curb the spread of the disease.

Earlier, Ghana’s President also imposed travel restrictions affecting the capital Accra, Kumasi and Kasoa.

President Nana Akuffo-Addo announced the ban but said health workers would be offered free transportation as they battle the disease.

He also announced tax exemptions for health workers for the period of the pandemic.