President Kenyatta announces partial lock-down to curb spread of COVID-19

Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta. /PHOTO: Kenyan Presidency

Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced a 21-day travel ban affecting the Nairobi Metropolitan region, Kilifi County, Kwale County and Mombasa County, in a bid to curb the spread of COVID-19.

President Kenyatta made the declaration on Monday as the East African country announced 16 new COVID-19 cases, bringing the country’s total tally to 158. 6 patients have died while 4 persons have fully recovered.

“To contain and limit the spread of the disease to other parts of the country, the National Security Council has sanctioned and caused the issuance of the following additional measures; i). There shall be cessation of all movement by road, rail or air in and out of the Nairobi Metropolitan Area and the counties of Kilifi, Kwale and Mombasa,” President Kenyatta said.

The president said the cessation of movement within the Nairobi metropolitan Area shall take effect from 7PM Monday 6 April, 2020, while the cessation of movement within countries of Kilifi, Kwale and Mombasa taking effect from 7PM Wednesday.

The government over the weekend also announced the extension of a ban on international flights into the country in efforts to stop the importation of COVID-19 cases.

Kenya is one of 51 African countries that have recorded cases of COVID-19. The continent’s reported cases have surpassed 9,000, with over 400 deaths. Over 800 patients have recovered.