Nigeria bans travelers from U.S., UK and China over COVID-19 pandemic

View of Lagos airport

Nigeria’s federal government announced on Wednesday that it will ban travelers from 13 countries as a measure of controlling the coronavirus pandemic.

The affected countries include China, the United States, the United Kingdom, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the Netherlands and Switzerland.

The measure will take effect on Saturday March 21.

Nigeria joins a number of countries across the continent that have announced travel bans on countries with high coronavirus cases. Some countries have used reported cases to activate the bans. Ghana, for example, says travelers from countries with 100 or more cases will be refused entry.

Many Nigerian citizens took to social media to demand pressure the government to follow the trend by several other countries and bar countries with high numbers of COVID-19 cases from entry into Africa’s most populous nation.

All three cases are in the commercial capital of Lagos.