Stage set for 2019 AFCON draw

The Africa Cup of Nations tournament draw is set to take place later today in the Egyptian capital, Cairo.

Ahead of the draw, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) revealed the pots in which the qualified teams had been seeded.

The 24 teams are seeded in four pots of six teams each. The first pot mainly includes teams that took part in the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Below is a look at how the teams have been seeded.

  • Pot 1 : Egypt, Cameroon, Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria, Morocco
  • Pot 2 : DR Congo, Ghana, Mali, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Algeria
  • Pot 3 : South Africa, Uganda, Benin, Mauritania, Madagascar, Kenya
  • Pot 4 : Zimbabwe, Namibia, Guinea Bissau, Angola, Tanzania, Burundi

Worth noting, Madagascar and Burundi will participate in AFCON for the first time ever in their history.

The AFCON draw will take place at the Pyramids in Cairo and starts at 6pm GMT. The 24 finalists will be placed into six groups of four teams each, and from there 16 teams will progress to the knockout round, using the same format of UEFA Euro 2016.

Egypt will host the tournament as a replacement of Cameroon, which CAF deemed not ready to host the continental competition.