South Africa and Kenya name squads for Hong Kong Sevens leg

Courtesy: Ike Li/Shutterstock

South Africa and Kenya named their squads for the seventh leg of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Hong Kong.

Springboks Sevens coach Neil Powell made three changes to the squad that won the title in Vancouver with Angelo Davids, Ryan Oosthuizen and Kurt-Lee Andrese coming in for captain Philip Snyman, Muller du Plessis and JC Pretorius.

The absence of Snyman, who suffered a concussion in the previous leg in Vancouver, sees Siviwe Soyizwapi take over the captaincy of the team.

Soyizwapi, who made his sevens debut in Hong Kong in 2016, will be eager to lead the defending Series champions to victory in the only city they have failed to claim a tournament title.

Kenya, meanwhile, welcomes back seven senior players who have been training with the rest of the squad following the tournament in Vancouver.

Andrew Amonde, Augustine Lugonzo, Nelson OyooEden Agero, Daniel Sikuta, Jeffrey Oluoch and Oscar Dennis join the squad as Kenya hopes to invigorate its dismal 2018/2019 campaign.

Kenya lies in 14th place on the HSBC Series standings on 18 points.

Jeffrey Oluoch will captain the side in place of Jacob Ojee who misses out due to academic commitments. Four other players who participated in the North American leg of the Sevens Series also miss out due to injury.

South Africa are in Pool A with Scotland, Samoa and Japan while Kenya are in Pool C with Fiji, New Zealand and Australia.

The Hong Kong Sevens leg will take place between April 5 and 7.

Leave a Reply