Mane, Salah, Aubameyang lead race for CAF Player of the Year crown


Liverpool star forwards Mohamed Salah (Egypt) and Sadio Mane (Senegal) have been shortlisted by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the African Player of the Year.

The duo is joined by eight other footballers from across the continent in the final list published by CAF on Friday.

The other players shortlisted for the coveted award are Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal), Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance), Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City) and Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly).

The shortlisted nominees were decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee.

The winner will be obtained by a voting process involving CAF Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, and Coaches & Captains of the 54 Member Associations.

Also published on Wednesday were nominees for the African Women’s Player of The Year, Youth Player of The Year, Men’s Coach of The Year, Women’s Coach of the Year, Men’s National Team of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year.