Mnangagwa names former banker as new finance minister

African Development Bank vice president Mthuli Ncube gives a press conference in the second day of the World Economic Forum Meeting on Africa, at the Cape Town International Convention Centre on May 9, 2013, in Cape Town. AFP PHOTO / RODGER BOSCH (Photo credit should read RODGER BOSCH/AFP/Getty Images)
Mthuli Ncube AFP PHOTO / RODGER BOSCH (Photo credit should read RODGER BOSCH/AFP/Getty Images)

Zimbabwean President Emmerson Mnangagwa on Friday appointed former banker Mthuli Ncube as finance minister and said Winston Chitando would remain as mines minister.

Ncube is also Chairman of the Board of the African Economic Research Consortium,  chairman of the Global Agenda Council on “Poverty and Economic Development” (World Economic Forum) and a governor of the African Capacity Building Foundation. His experience will serve him well in his newly appointed role.

The two technocrats are expected to lead plans for the country’s economic recovery.

Below is a full list of the cabinet:

  1. Finance – Mthuli Ncube
  2. Defence – Oppah Muchinguri Kashiri
  3. Local Government – July Moyo
  4. Foreign Affairs – SB Moyo
  5. Public Service Sekesai Nzenza
  6. Industry – Mangaliso Ndlovu
  7. Home Affairs – Cain Mathema
  8. Higher Education – Amon Murwira
  9. Primary and Secondary Education – Paul Mavima
  10. Lands, Agriculture – Perrance Shiri
  11. Mines – Winston Chitando
  12. Energy and Power Development –  Jorum Gumbo
  13. Transport – Joel Biggie Matiza
  14. Information – Monica Mutsvangwa
  15. ICT – Kazembe Kazembe
  16. Tourism – Prisca Mupfumira
  17. Sport, Arts and Recreation – Kirsty Coventry
  18. Health – Obadiah Moyo
  19. Justice – Ziyambi Ziyambi
  20. Women Affairs – Sithembiso Nyoni

Leave a Reply