Over 20 Heads of State in Nairobi for President Kenyatta’s inauguration

More than 20 Heads of State are expected in Nairobi to witness the inauguration of Uhuru Kenyatta as Kenya’s president for a second term.

The organizing body for the event confirmed the arrival of some leaders already, though declined to give names.

East African regional leaders are however said to have all confirmed their attendance.

Some leaders are already in the capital.


Kenyatta was declared winner of the October 26 poll with over 98 percent, after the main opposition leader Raila Odinga boycotted it.

Odinga’s NASA coalition withdrew from the vote demanding electoral changes, including the resignation of some staff of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission whom it accused of engaging in malpractices in the initial August 8 election.

The opposition leader is also among the other presidential candidates invited to attend the inauguration ceremony, though his coalition has planned a parallel gathering.

As early as 4:00AM local time, tens of thousands of people had begun streaming into the Kasarani Stadium where the swearing in ceremony will be held.

The event will however officially begin at 10:00AM local time.

The US$ 3 million fete is expected to last no more than two hours, with a reception at State House planned for the dignitaries afterwards.