EU expands sanctions against DRC to 16 people



The European Union has extended it sanctions over the deteriorating situation in Democratic Republic of Congo, imposing travel bans and asset freezes on nine more senior security officials.

The EU announced on Monday that the new sanctions brought the total of DRC officials facing such a ban to 16 people.

The EU says the crisis in DRC’s Kasai province has “reached an exceptional level” and has condemned the violence.

The EU also said, however, it was increasingly worried about the disproportionate use of force by authorities and security forces.

Leave a Reply