Kenya to adopt professional approach in preparing for 2019 Rugby World Cup qualifiers

Kenya could face defending champions New Zealand and heavyweights South Africa if they qualify for the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Kenya must first qualify for the competition. Africa has one automatic ticket which will be contested by five countries – Kenya, Uganda, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Senegal at the 2018 qualifiers. Kenya begin their campaign for the qualifiers this month when they face Germany in a test match. In 2014 the country came close to qualifying for the 2015 world cup but failed to in the last hurdle.

This time around the Rugby Union is keen to avoid the mistakes made in the Madagascar qualifying tournament.