Tanzania bans entry of refugee groups from the African Great Lakes region



The Tanzanian government has banned the entry of refugee groups from the Great Lakes Region stating that there are no security threats in the neighboring countries to warrant their fleeing, according to a report by the Daily News.

“We, in Tanzania, will no longer receive refugee groups from the Great Lakes region,” said Tanzania’s Home Affairs Minister Mwigulu Nchemba

Mr Nchemba further added that the government will only receive individual immigrants but subject them to tight scrutiny by relevant authorities before granting refugee status

According to the minister, refugees have partly worsened the problem of illegal firearms in the country and increased incidents of armed robbery, disrupting the smooth livelihood of the citizens.

“In my capacity as Home Affairs Minister, I am suspending the process of granting citizenship to refugee groups because we have witnessed its adverse impact, especially in Tabora where most parts of the region face security threats,” charged the minister

Tanzania has also suspended issuing citizenship to refugee groups and will grant citizenship to to individual applicants.

Countries in the African Great Lakes region include Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda.

Leave a Reply