Sensational Nigeria and Arsenal star Alex Iwobi shortlisted for prestigious Golden Boy award



Nigeria’s Arsenal prodigy Alex Iwobi has been shortlisted for the 2016 Golden Boy award, a prize given for the most outstanding young player in European football.

The 20-year-old has been selected alongside 39 other young players, including Manchester United’s sensation Marcus Rashford and Tottenham’s Delle Ali.

Iwobi has been in a great form for Arsenal since the start of the season, registering three assists already in the Premier League, just one behind leader Kevin De Bruyne.

Previous winners of the prestigious Golden Boy award include Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling and Paul Pogba.

Iwobi’s sensational form this season has vindicated Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger’s decision not to allow him represent Nigeria at the Rio Olympic Games where the West African nation claimed silver.

Already, the Nigerian has been compared to his uncle, the great Jay Jay Okocha, by fellow team mate and Germany international Mesut Ozil.

Here is the full list of players shortlisted for the 2016 Golden Boy award;

Dele Alli (Tottenham), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Leon Bailey (Racing Genk), Riechedly Bazoer (Ajax), Gabriel Boschilia (Monaco), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Carlos Luna (Sevilla), Andreas Christensen (Borussia Monchengladbach), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb), Moussa Dembele (Celtic), Ousmane Dembele (Borussia Dortmund), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Breel Embolo (Schalke), Gabriel Barbosa (Inter Milan), Alexsandr Golovin (CSKA Moscow), Goncalo Guedes (Benfica), Demarai Gray (Leicester City), Marko Grujic (Liverpool), Alen Halilovic (Hamburg), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Victor Kovalenko (Shakhtar Donetsk), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Lucas Hernandez (Atletico Madrid), Emanuel Mammana (Lyon), Nathan (Vitesse), Olivier Ntcham (Genoa), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich), Jairo Riedewald (Ajax), Ruben Neves (Porto), Toni Sanabria (Real Betis), Leroy Sane (Manchester City), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen), Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht), Almamy Toure (Monaco)

Leave a Reply