Measures relaxed for Kenyans travelling to South Africa

South Africa has announced a series of measures to relax visa rules for Kenyan travelers as a fresh move to strengthen bilateral ties.

These include visa exemption for holders of diplomatic and official passports, issuing of three-year multiple entry visa for frequent travellers, and a 10-year multiple entry visa for frequent business travellers and academics.

South Africa will also issue study visas for the duration of the course and remove transit visas for travellers transiting through South African airports.

The agreement is a relief to Kenya, coming over a year after South Africa imposed tough rules on Kenyan visitors.

Kenya had initially retaliated with similar sanctions but suspended them in August after South African authorities asked for talks.