African stars shortlisted for Player of the Year Award


The Confederations of African Football (CAF) has shortlisted 37 players for the 2015 CAF African Player of the Year Award.

Cote d’Ivoire midfielder Yaya Toure, who won the awars last year, leads the pack alongside various great talents from across the continent.

Toure’s team-mates Gervinho, Max Gradel and Serge Aurier also made it into the list.

Others in the list include Andre Ayew (Ghana & Swansea City), Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & CSKA Moscow), Saido Mane (Senegal & Southampton), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria & Lille) and Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City).

Andre Ayew has notably started life in England very well following his move to Swansea City from Ligue 1 outfit, Marseille.

Already, there is muffled talk of Toure clinching the award again, after leading his country to continental glory early this year.

Should he win the award, the Manchester City midfield powerhouse will beat Samuel Eto’o record of four Best Player titles, as he will now have five. He equalled the Cameroonian’s record when he scooped the award for a fourth straight time last year.

The winner will be announced at CAF’s award ceremony on 22 December.