World leaders arrive in Jakarta for the Africa-Asia summit

Asia-Africa summit 2
The theme of the summit is : ”Strengthening South to South Cooperation to promote World Peace and Prosperity”


World Leaders expected to attend the Asia Africa Conference 60th Anniversary Commemoration (AACC) events have begun arriving in Jakarta where the summit will be held.

The summit to be held under the theme: ”Strengthening South to South Cooperation to promote World Peace and Prosperity” is aimed at bridging Asia and African countries into stronger partnerships and to share experiences in enhancing both regions’ economic development.

Leaders of Angola and Russia, arrived  on Sunday. The president of Angola was accompanied by a delegation of Angolan officials who will also be part of the summit.

Uganda’s vice president  Edward Ssekandi  left on Monday for the summit expected to be joined by other  African leaders at the summit taking place in the South Eastern capital of Jakarta.

South African president Jacob Zuma who was expected to attend the summit which officially begins on 21 Tuesday will miss the event following events back home where Xenophobic attacks have rocked the country.

 However the The South African delegation arrived on Sunday. The five-day summit is aimed at re-energising economic activities between the two continents and further consolidate the spirit of the cold war era gathering that gave birth to the Non- Aligned Movement.
The state guests are scheduled to attend the AACC opening ceremony, which will take place at the Jakarta Convention Center in Senayan, Central Jakarta, on Monday.
Heads of state and representatives
34 heads of state and heads of government, as well as representatives from 77 countries have confirmed their attendance at the conference, set to be held in Jakarta and Bandung.
Among the heads of state and government who are confirmed include those of Brunei Darussalam, China, Iran, Jordan, Madagascar, Malawi and Swaziland, according to the Foreign Ministry.
Other leaders confirming their presence are from Bangladesh, Cambodia, Egypt, Gabon, Malaysia, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestine, Singapore, South Africa, Sudan, Thailand, Timor Leste, Vietnam and Zimbabwe.
Six countries confirming the presence of deputy heads of state or government are Algeria, Angola, Liberia, Seychelles the Philippines and Zambia.Representatives of six international organizations, namely the African Union, the Arab League, ASEAN, the Asian Development Bank, the United Nations and the South Center, will also be present.