Former Arsenal star Adebayor to lead Togo at AFCON showpiece



Former Arsenal star Emmanuel Adebayor will lead the Togolese team at the Africa Cup of Nations tournament that will kick-off on January 14 in Gabon.

The 32-year old is currently unattached after failing to secure a move to another club following the expiration of his contract with Crystal Palace last summer.

Adebayor will be making his fifth appearance at the tournament.

The Sparrow Hawks are pooled together with defending Champions Cote d’Ivoire, Morocco and the Democratic Republic of Congo in Group C.

Togo goes into this tournament managed by former Cameroonian manager Claude LeRoy.

LeRoy guided the Indomitable Lions to the 1988 Nations Cup title, and has only failed to reach the quarter finals once.

Here is Togo’s full squad list for the AFCON 2017 tournament;

Goalkeepers: Kossi Agassa (Unattached), Baba Tchagouni (FC Marmande, France), Cédric Mensah (Le Mans, France)

Defenders: Serge Akakpo (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Sadate Ouro-Akoriko (Al Khaleej, Saudi Arabia), Djene Dakonam (Sint-Truidense, Belgium), Gafar Mamah (Dacia, Moldova), Maklibè Kouloun (Dyto), Hakim Ouro-Sama (AS Togo-Port), Vincent Bossou (Young Africans, Tanzania)

Midfielders: Alaixys Romao (Olympiacos, Greece), Matthieu Dossevi (Standard Liège, Belgium), Floyd Ayité (Fulham, England), Henritsè Eninful (Doxa Katokopias, Cyprus), Lalawele Atakora (Helsingborgs, Sweden), Prince Segbefia (Goztepe, Turkey), Ihlas Bebou (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Franco Atchou (Dyto), Serge Gakpe (Genoa, Italy)

Forwards: Emmanuel Adebayor (unattached), Fo Doh Laba (Berkane, Morocco), Komlan Agbeniadan (WAFA, Ghana), Razak Boukari (Chateauroux, France)